Yearly Performance Evaluation (Review) and Raise

Guest UVAPAC

Guest UVAPAC

Just looking for some advice on PA salary review and raise process.

I am now in my third year as a practicing physician assistant.  Each year our hospital has a performance evaluation process where you fill out a self review on yourself, and your medical director also fills out a performance evaluation.  You then meet 1 on 1 with the director to review the performance evaluations, and at the end you are given your raise for the next year.

Our hospital has had a policy that "the maximum raise is 2%" which is next to nothing.  

My first year the medical director got me "an adjusted raise of 6%," my second year I was given an adjusted raise of 15%...

This year we have a new medical director.  I sat down with him having seen my highest number of patients ever, more responsibility than ever, and shorter on staff than ever before.  He more or less said "you do a great job, everyone loves you, therefore I am giving you the maximum raise of 2%."  I wasn't going to sit there and argue and said "ok."  Clearly from the past 2 years I understand that it is possible to get an adjusted raise.

I guess my question is... what kind of raises to PA's normally get?  Is it customary to get larger raises the first year or two, and then stuck with tiny raises for an eternity?

It has really become increasingly frustrating to me the more I think about it.  I bill in a single day what I am paid in 5-6 weeks.  I would estimate I bill $1 million for the $108,000 salary I make.  

Should I have tried to negotiate from more?  Do I tell them I am frustrated with the embarrassingly low raise?  Do I just look for another job?  

Thanks

New medical director = new policies

I would negotiate more, especially if you're busier, more productive and have more responsibility. At a certain point, those big raises will subside, likely once your production plateaus.