Tough to turn down offers as a new grad, but harder to accept a terrible one

Hi All,

Looking for some input from those experienced with the FL job market. I am a new grad freshly moved and licensed in FL. Just turned down my first offer.

ORTHOPEDICS

2 days OR, 3 days clinic (expected to be seeing ~70pts/day after 6 months)

• Salary: 85,000 no bonus, potential for bonus after 1 year
  • "at will employment w/ 90 day probation" 
  • NO PTO = burnout
  • Wants me to get my own malpractice and be reimbursed > I have spoken with a med malpractice attorney friend who thinks this is beyond being a terrible idea
  • No bennies for 3 months
  • Health insurance "% to be paid by employer and % by employee TBD"
  • "Keeping up with Dr. X's medical records deficiencies"...????
  • $1500 CME
  • Be clean shaven at all times..

After countering on nearly every point, I received a reply that consisted of telling me

• "unhelpful for 1+ years"
  • "a liability in the OR for a long time"
  • "will slow the Dr. down for ~ 1 year"
  • "will be a money suck for ~6 months and MIGHT break even by 1 year"
  • "will never see 100k as a new grad since NASA makes 80k and avg for new PA is 72k"

Please feel free to correct me if I am being an overly pushy new grad, but I rejected this offer and took the opportunity to educate this particular physician on the value of a modern PA. I have studied the 2016 AAPA Salary report and understand my value to a practice. My argument involved simple RVU calculations that indicate with even lowest tier patient visits and seeing only 20pts a day, I will be generating >$60,000 in the first 6 months, not including OR assist fees, procedures, etc. Also no PTO in ortho sounds like death...

Why isn't RVU understanding and valuing ourselves included in the PA school curriculum?!?!