Unrealistic expectations?

Hi all!

I'm a new grad - been working about 4 months in ortho.

I have recently been asked to help at a different practice while they get up to full staffing. The days I assist in their clinic I am being asked to also round and discharge on patients prior to clinic. Their practice is much more high volume and performs more surgeries requiring an inpatient stay. On clinic days I am often discharging between 6 and 9 patients prior to clinic that starts at 9:00 am. Being expected to discharge this many patients prior to a 9 am clinic makes me extremely uncomfortable, as I am often rushing through rounding/discharging - fearing I am missing something important. I was wondering what the norm is for PAs who work in a surgical specialty? How much time are you given to round/discharge and typically how many patients?

That is quite a task before clinic. Are these patient known to you before hand? If I am anticipating a DC I will do all the paperwork the day before and just check in in the morning and put the DC order in. But even then I can handle about 3 or 4 and still get to clinic on time.

If I was expecting to round/DC 9 patients daily I would ask to shave and hour or two off clinic time.

That is quite a task before clinic. Are these patient known to you before hand? If I am anticipating a DC I will do all the paperwork the day before and just check in in the morning and put the DC order in. But even then I can handle about 3 or 4 and still get to clinic on time.

If I was expecting to round/DC 9 patients daily I would ask to shave and hour or two off clinic time.

These patients are totally foreign to me since I'm only at their office once per week and in their OR a few days prior. Thank you for your insight - I wasn't sure if I was just sounding whiney or if my concerns were as legitimate as they felt.

Someone not doing there job and wants the PA to clean up the mess.