EMR in UC - do you chart in the room?

I work at a high volume UC - depending on location we average 60-80 pts / 12 hours for 2 providers. Up until now we've had a beautiful system of paper charts that were easy to take into the room with me. A couple days later a transcriber would then put them in EMR where I'd proofread and sign off. We are now being forced to fully go electronic (new owners). Mar 1 we go live with epic and there are now computers in every pt room on large cumbersome arms that pull down and swivel. For those of you in similar situations, are you documenting the history in the pt room while talking to the pt? Pulling the computer down from the wall to use it frankly just gets in the way. But waiting until I leave the room to document the history seems like it will slow the process even more. Either way, I see our wait times going to a molasses like speed. Thanks.

I've been through the Epic conversion (from other systems) a few times, and as a student I worked in an office with paper charts. I never had a romanticized view of "the old way," because paper charts have a lot of drawbacks. It sounds like your current setup is kind of the best of both worlds, with the quickness of paper and the reliability and search-ability of EMR. Bummer that you have to switch.  

To answer your question, I always jotted down notes in pen while in the room, and then did my note later. I'd get history stuff, write any ABnormal exam findings, and I had really good templates pre-made so I knew which ones applied. It wasn't "efficient" if you define that as fast, but I always felt it was worth it. When I'm the patient, I absolutely hate when the clinician is looking at the screen and not me, and if they're typing I assume they aren't listening.