All -

Been receiving a bunch of requests from patients for help "concentrating" or "focusing" or "remembering" stuff.  They all think they have ADD/ADHD.  They all think they need Adderall, Vyvanse, or Strattera.  I'm not an expert in this area, so these requests are really driving me nuts.  Most of these issues come from a lack of self-discipline and structure, not a chemical issue.  There is no quick fix. 

What resources are you all using to get good at managing these people with as few meds as possible? 

Andrew

Bump them to psych or behavioral health for a quantitative eval. If you start these people on stimulants you will never get rid of them. If they can come back to you with a Dx of ADD/ADHD made by a mental health professional (most wont go through the trouble), then at that point you pretty much "have" to treat them. Interestingly, Up-To-Date recommends stimulant pharmacological therapy over CBT, Grade 2B evidence.

Personally I think ADD/ADHD is one of the most over-diagnosed, superfluous diagnoses there is. This used to drive me crazy in private practice. I felt like a drug dealer, giving amphetamines to perfectly functional ADULTS who work and hold normal jobs. I eventually stopped giving new Rx's to anyone claiming they had ADD/ADHD. I just said I no longer prescribe these drugs, there is a dependence/abuse problem in the community.

Seriously though, dont get involved in this if at all possible. You arent doing anyone medical harm by refusing to prescribe stimulants and, mark my words, you will never get rid of them. You know, because "they just cant concentrate" without their crutch dope I mean meds..