Supervision and Hiring for PAs

I'm a student in the Pacific Northwest who will graduate from MEDEX in August, 2016.  I've begun the job search, and had the opportunity to shadow in my dream clinic a few weeks ago.  Excellent underserved/Latino focus with integrated behavioral health, pleasant work environment, respectable compensation, eligibility for loan repayment, etc...

I met with the director of the clinic, and felt we had an excellent rapport.  He tends to advertise for and hire for nurse practitioners, but is open to taking on a PA with the right qualifications.  There were four NPs working that day, and no PAs.  I asked him why he doesn't hire more PAs, and he said he believed the paperwork for hiring and supervising PAs in Washington State is too complicated and onerous.  He even said he wanted to lobby the state legislature to change policy.

I feel it's possible he was misinformed, and I still plan to apply to that clinic.  But this hurdle sort of puts me at a disadvantage vs. NPs from the beginning.  It also seems to be a common misconception about PAs.  Does anyone have some good pre-articulated responses to the belief that PA paperwork is cumbersome?

Joshua

Guest Paula

I have no pre-articulated responses to the belief that the paperwork is cumbersome.  You could ask him for an example of what the paperwork is exactly?  Is it with credentialing for insurance companies? is it the state law?

I would certainly go to the state PA chapter and ask them what type of paperwork is needed for hiring and supervising?  Have you looked at the law yourself yet?