Advice on taking a nonconventional job

Hi everyone, I was wondering if I could pick the brain of my fellow pas on a job offer I've been given. It is in internal medicine, which I would enjoy, but the thing is I would never see my own patients. The doctor sees the patients and I would go in with him to see them too but I would basically transcribe while he sees them. Also, the job would involve reviewing labs (with the doc), rounding at the hospital, taking call (phone calls).

However, I graduated over 2 years ago and haven't been practicing because of past legal issues that were hindering me from getting licensed. I am finally licensed and the issues are behind me and while I have been working as an MA since I graduated, I am probably a little rusty in the medical knowledge department. I would love to one day see my own patients but do you think I should accept the internal med job? Do you think it would be a good way to get experience and probably learn a LOT from the doc? I have had several interviews and this is the only offer I've gotten. The pay is ok, $75,000, which isn't amazing but a lot more than I've been making as an MA! And for where I live (Florida) I've been told 75 Actually isn't bad for a starting salary.

Please let me know what your thoughts are, I am in need of guidance. Thank you!

Well he does have a pa there now (that I would be replacing, she is leaving due to the long commute) and she seemed to like the job, didn't have anything negative to say about it, and when I asked if she minds not having autonomy she said it's not bad for a newer pay because she's learned a ton from the doc.

so you have been out of the work force for 2 years

have never worked as a PA

an now have someone willing to take you on

I say you would be a fool to pass it up

it is not permanent, but a good stepping stone

(normally I would say "**ll no" - but with a new grad, out of school for two years, and "legal issues" in the past - you NEED a first job....)