How to tell my employer about my license application is delayed due to a "crime"...

Guest ERCat

Long story short, when I was 20 years old I briefly went into the wrong area in a secure building in order to greet someone I hadn't seen for a long time. When security asked what I was doing, I freaked out and said that I left something behind (which was a lie) and didn't mean any harm and that I would leave immediately. It was a dumb situation but there was absolutely no malicious intent whatsoever. I left 15 minutes later, and a few days later I ended up getting slapped with two misdemeanors, which were both dismissed. No convictions.

This stupid situation is haunting me for the rest of my life basically. I graduated and took my boards in August, and I have been biting my nails waiting for my license to come in. I accepted my dream job, and they wanted me to start working in the fall. I keep having to put them off, telling them I don't have my license yet. I am extra nervous because the credentialing process will take 60 to 90 days from the time I get my license. Everyone in my class has received their license, I was just told that the board will have to have a meeting in order to grant approval for my license. The problem is, that meeting is two months away. That means I would get my license at the end of November, and the credentialing period of 60 to 90 days would start then. That means I would not be working until February of next year. I was hired into this dream job back in July, and I don't think they were anticipating that it would take six months for me to begin.