How can I improve my volunteer experience

Guest Opie1210

Guest Opie1210

Hello everyone :)

I'm graduating this summer with my bio degree and plan to devote the next year to building my resume before I apply next cycle in 2016. First let me say, my GPA is not strong. It's in the 3.3-3.4 area. I'm hoping I can set myself apart with my work experience and volunteer work. I have been a CNA for three months now and will have 1,500+ hours by the time I start applying. Also, I was a pharm tech for two years. I know only some schools consider that HCE hours, but it can't hurt me nonetheless. I'm beginning to volunteer at a local hospital and they will be setting me up with a few PAs to shadow. I have been looking through other student's post and I see a wide array of volunteer experience. My question is how do I go about finding these opportunities? Mind you, I do not have the resources to go on one of these medical brigades across the world. So, what are some ways I can use volunteering to set my application apart? I feel as though I am just an average candidate now but I'd like to take advantage of the time I have off from school to build my resume.

What are you passionate about? Are you planning to write your PS and tell ad comms that you want to help under-served communities? If so, definitely get some volunteer experience at some public health clinics. Do you want to be an OBGYN PA? If that's your passion, then find volunteer opportunities at a women's shelter. You get the idea.