The LECOM "bridge" Is anyone thinking of doing it?

I am planning on applying to medical school for 2013. My husband is currently finishing his residency and we have a two year old so we're trying to maintain some sort of balance in our training. I'm certainly interested in this program, but my concern would be match as LECOM is a DO program so how much is this going to limit people interested in surgical subspecialties or highly competitive fields. I work as a very autonomous hospitalist right now but I don't think I want to necessarily work in a primary care speciality when I'm done. Just wonderingif anyone else is thinking of applying in the near future or even starting it this year! What a fantastic time for our profession. Think of the changes and support for our profession this will bring with more of our own becoming doctors. Name change wont be far behind I would imagine.

I disagree - I do not think it is fantastic more PAs will become doctors. Wouldmuch rather see experienced PAs advance autonomy and skill set through CME or residency programs. I do not think this is goodfor the PA profession. Will we lose our most motivated? Will PA be viewed as an MD stepping stone?

On a side note.... just had a friend finish DO school and said he wish he went the PA road... Not sure how much of this is true... said it is very hard to getinto competitve residency programs as an avg DO and he is doing something not his ideal interest.

Wouldmuch rather see experienced PAs advance autonomy and skill set through CME or residency programs.