Help to decide..New Grad job offers...

Hi fellows , I need help to decide as I am a New grad but with good past medical experience.

I have some very good job offers but I wanted to decide between 2 of them ..

Job one (Urgent Care )  Maryland

45 per hours 

full health for family and self

15 day PTO

5 day personal 

2K CME

Malpractice with Tail 

Job two (ER ) Kentucky

55 per hour

600 dollar health insurance per month for self and family

no PTO

No Personal

No CME

Malpractice with Tail 

other benefits like retirement etc are same..

I need some input to decide ...Maryland and Eastern Kentucky are very different states for PAs. I am currently living in Kentucky near to that ER job offer but I use to live in New Jersey not far from Maryland offer .Kentucky is very PA unfriendly law state and MD is very PA friendly .

thanks

Maryland.

The xtra $10 per hour wont make up for the health insurance premium monthly and lack of cme $$.

The one thing you didnt mention is your hourly contractual obligation.

At either job, what are you obligated to work? In Kentucky, are you told that you will only work so many hours a year?

I am also assuming that if you want to supplement income, you may be more likely to in MD vs KY?

Which place is your family more amenable to since they had to deal with the sacrifice over the last 2 years to get you where you are now?

Last, you can always counter to Maryland with $50 an hour, tell them you are considering 2 jobs, the other is paying better and this is a way to swing your decision their way. Worst they can say is no.

Kudos on malpractice with a tail.

Good luck.

George Brothers PA-C

Thanks George Brother ...

The Maryland Job offer say minimum 40 hours per week but told I can pick 50 or 60 hours as they need more coverage at multiple sites .

The Kentucky ER told in order to consider full time I have to work 120 hours per month 12 hour 10 shifts .