First job in outpatient primary medicine, and already overwhelmed with patient load

Hey everyone :-/.

I graduated earlier this summer and have just finished my first day at an internal medicine office--and boy, how OVERWHELMING my first day at the office was!

On day one, I had a patient load of 30 pts in an 8 hour period (with several ending up as being no shows). I did not see all of them--my supervising physician helped me a lot with that, but I'm sure that I will soon be expected to handle more than 25 patients a day without help. My supervising physician also did her best to orient me to the office's electronic charting system--but I feel as though I need a lot more orienting. I hope that I continue seeing more patients, I will get more proficient in using e-charts.

I'm just wondering if anyone else out there in the big world felt this way when they first started out. Is this normal? Your thoughts / comments / suggestions are much appreciated.

You were overwhelmed with a schedule of about four pts/hr, on your first day, with a computer system you do not know, with staff who have never worked with you...and you want to know if it's normal to feel the way you do?

Good God I hope it's normal to feel that way. Anyone who doesn't feel that way is either lying to themselves or oblivious to the world.

• Administrator

That still has a very much "thrown to the wolves" feel about it. Full schedule, no time for learning the EMR? Seems like a pointless exercise in futility. Have they ever broken in a new graduate PA before? Asking for you to take care of 30 patients in 8 hours, especially IM patients, is quite steep.

Way too much for the first day, as everyone has stated.

What I would suggest is basically being your SP's scribe for at 2-3 days. This will help you get used to the EMR, see how the office flow works, and give you an idea how to approach your patients. A reasonable pt load for a new grad would be more like 10-15 pts in an 8 hr period.