Need experience to obtain experience...?

I'm a full-time undergrad student and I decided to go to PA school during my junior year. Before then I did not take any prereq or have any healthcare experience, so I have a lot to catch up. So when I went out to look for some jobs for the healthcare experiences, they usually asked for some prior experience in healthcare settings. But how are you supposed to get healthcare experience if the job that I'm applying for IS the healthcare experience I need?

Basically you're looking at jobs that are not hiring new grads. You're going to find a lot if that regardless of the certification. There's really only 7 ways to land your first gig..

1. Look for a job hiring new grads

2. Look at temp agencies

3. Network your way in

4. Walk straight to the hiring manager and have a 1 on 1 with them / make a good impression.

5. Volunteering your way in

6. Get your certification through the company that's going to hire you (like AMR for EMT or UCI Medical Center's Phlebotomy program and get a job at UCI medical center).

7. Get hired where you made a good impression during a clinical rotation.

Either way good luck!

I think 3 and 5 go hand in hand, at least they did for me. I volunteered in the ED for seven months before I got hired on as a full time tech. Every 2 weeks I would go and visit the clinical manager and ask about jobs or potential vacancies. Sure it took awhile, but it paid off in the long run. I think it was also helpful that I asked the PAs/Docs lots of questions and asked to observe procedures whenever possible. The more people you can get to know on a first name basis the better chances you'll have. People noticed my work ethic and my level of interest, and, in a talkative environment like the ED, word will spread to the appropriate (hiring) people.