Doctor Title

I am a Licensed Chiropractic physician in Virginia. I plan to go to PA school. In virginia and many other states a chiropractor is a portal of entry Physician. We can do physicals, order Lab tests, X-Rays, DME equipment, braces, etc. We cannot prescribe drugs or do surgery. When I become a PA will I be called Doctor since I already can do most of the same things a medical doctor can do. I have my own NPI number and I believe the group I would work for would recieve full reimbursement instead of 85% for a PA.

• Replies 136
  • Created
  • Last Reply

You can check the state regulations through the AAPA but most are explicit about identifying yourself as a PA if you are working in that capacity. I have known DCs who went on to be PAs and worked in ortho/sport med practices where their PA and DC lines are blurred, so there you may have a case, but if you are working as a PA and not practicing chiro then it would be hard use the term Dr.

Same as any academic or non-allopathic clinical Dr using the title.

PAs have NPI numbers as well as you probably know.

There are incident to rules that allow 100% billing but I wasn't aware of one which utilizes a doctorate degree to grant 100% of the physicians fee schedule.

You certainly have earned that title, but if you are hired as a PA and working as a PA then you will have to identify yourself as such. Check your local state laws, usually they are very specific about having a visible badge with title, etc. Of course lots of patients don't know/don't care about the difference between a PA and an MD and may call you "doc" without you even saying anything. However, I certainly know nothing about working with dual liscences or performing chiropractic duties under the job title of PA, so I will leave that to the working professionals. :)