Non traditional ba degree- no gpa

Hi! I have a non traditional completely online undergraduate degree from a regionally accredited school Thomas Edison state college. I completed my liberal arts degree through testing out clep and dsst. Due to financial and family obligations. Btw I am 24 y/o. And therefore do not have a gpa, due to the fact they are pass and fail. I am applying into post bacc pre med programs. I am studying my butt off for the GRE. Planning on getting a lot of hours shadowing pa's and getting more than required patient hours. I have a lot of volunteer hours. Do I have a chance since I do not have an undergraduate gpa?? But will have a stellar science gpa. Any help muchappreciated!

• Administrator

You'll need strong LORs. In Washington, there are plenty of people going from The Evergreen State College into medical, dental, and PA programs. You'll need strong LORs, experience, etc. to demonstrate that if you DID have a GPA, it would have been in the appropriate range.

(Although, I don't know of any student who's gone from TESC to MEDEX for PA school...)

Thanks Rev, medex bachelor program would work perfectly!! Thanks steve for the remainder, first in the morning, I am planning to call pa schools. I understand how competitive seats are becoming, therefore I would not be surprised if I have to call all hundred plus pa schools. ;) wish me luck. Any other school recommendations??

Medex did just open up a 3rd BS site so that does expand the available seats. I am attending at the Yakima campus. If I remember correctly, their website cites that on average your classmates will have around 6000 hours of HCE. I know in my particular class this last year, that average was a lot closer to 10,000 hours.

On the flip side...they do like diversity. So being a non traditional student may work in your favor, bringing a non traditional view to the table to help balance the medics and such.