A question for current students.

I will be starting a program this coming year and I was curious about a few things. Hopefully this is the place to get the answers.

1) What class is the toughest? (I'm imagining A&P or Pharm?)

2) What are the major differences between PA A&P and the A&P I took as an undergrad?

3) Does anyone have any good suggestions of study aids? Things to work on before the program starts? or Any general tips to get through the first year.

Thanks!

Joanna

Hey Joanna, good questions. Congratulations on starting on this fantastic, challenging, and unique pathway! I am a first-year student, and in response to your questions I would say the following:

1) This depends on your prereq classes and your particular program (you'll get a more specific response from students at the program where you'll be starting). For me, A&P was certainly challenging and it can be tricky trying to learn all the drugs in pharm.

2) My experience was that PA A&P is much faster and much more in-depth. I loved it and was really grateful I had had two undergraduate A&P classes with cadaver labs. As important as is anatomy (and I'm a very visual/tactile person so it's my favorite of the two), I have been reminded almost every day of how important it is to have a good grasp of general physiology, as it comes back over and over again.