Best experience pre-pa?

Hello! 
I am a pre-PA student. I have my bachelors degree in health sciences, I know that to get into PA school you need a lot of experience and shadowing hours and was wondering what the best experience pre-PA would be to have? I have been considering medical scribe, physical therapy assistant, and medical assistant and am just unsure what route to go before being able to apply to PA school with experience and if any is better than the other. Any advise is helpful, thank you so much! 

Best: military medic, civilian medic, resp therapist, RN, LVN/LPN

OK: medical assistant, EMT-basic, CNA, P.T. asst

+/- varies by program: medical scribe. some places take this and many do not. It is basically a mobile transcriptionist. 

• Thanks 1

if you can become an ED Tech try that. some hospitals will train you on the spot or some might req. a cna cert, emt license/ma cert.

then see if they allow the techs to do blood draws, iv placement, splinting, foley insertion etc. as an ED tech you'll be exposed to the multi-disciplinary team, shadowing opportunities, patient care; traumas, code/cardio-pulm arrest, stemi, etc. 

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

18 hours ago, MarleneStar said:

I am a pre-PA student. I have my bachelors degree in health sciences, I know that to get into PA school you need a lot of experience and shadowing hours and was wondering what the best experience pre-PA would be to have?

The point of pre-PA experience is not to get into PA school. The point is essentially to utilize what skills you have already obtained from a first career and use them in a capacity as a PA as a second career. It wasn't until more recently (last 10-15 years) that the PA field has become a primary career and people have limited experiences going in. Some, such as myself, never actually worked in medicine before going to PA school.