Am I Doing Something Wrong??

I’m 31 years old, male from NY. 

My gpa is 3.66 and my science gpa is 3.88

bachelors degree in history from 2013 but I completed all prerequisite courses in the last two years all with grades of A. 

I’ve been an EMT/Paramedic full time for 10 years and have over 15,000 hours of hands on patient care experience with significant scope of practice. 

I scored in the top quartile on CASPer

so far only one school has interviewed me. I’m interviewing for a wait list spot at another and haven’t heard a single thing from the other 6 or so schools I applied to even while others who submitted apps at the same time have heard about interviews and rejections. 

did I miss something? Am I doing something wrong? 

The information you provided makes you look like a great candidate. I'd start with your paperwork since that's all the schools really have to go on until they either talk or meet you. Things to look at:

- How good were your references and what did they say about you?

- What would people think of you from reading your essay, etc.

Something is sending them a signal and it probably isn't your degree, age, or gender. (I was a 58 year old man with degrees in engineering when I enrolled.)

Good luck!

Edited by UGoLong
  • Upvote 4

• 2 weeks later...
On 8/25/2022 at 8:11 AM, DJR23 said:

I’m 31 years old, male from NY. 

My gpa is 3.66 and my science gpa is 3.88

bachelors degree in history from 2013 but I completed all prerequisite courses in the last two years all with grades of A. 

I’ve been an EMT/Paramedic full time for 10 years and have over 15,000 hours of hands on patient care experience with significant scope of practice. 

I scored in the top quartile on CASPer

so far only one school has interviewed me. I’m interviewing for a wait list spot at another and haven’t heard a single thing from the other 6 or so schools I applied to even while others who submitted apps at the same time have heard about interviews and rejections.