Butterfly portable ultrasound machine for PA students

I'm a didactic year PA student in PNW. After talking to some faculties, there's 0 possibilities to get US experience before clinical year. Is it stupid to drop 3k to buy a butterfly portable US for practicing? I have a strong interest in EM, getting some early US experience will be beneficial for my future training. Would be awesome to practice doing FAST exams before I face a crashing pt during rotation. I'm spending 90k+ in tuition alone, dropping 3k on something that keeps me interested in medicine seems like a good idea. Maybe i can get a EM doc/PA to teach me some US skills? Or I can take an online course with classmates? 

Edited by a98139

Don't drop that kind of money on an u/s at this point. Take a course or 2 first. SEMPA has a course.

I have taken some here as well: https://resuscitationgroup.com/  Take their one day intro course and their 2 day critical care course. Both have live models. Both are excellent and reasonably priced. . 

They have an option for purchasing your own u/s at a reduced rate as well. . 

Every place you do an EM rotation will have a machine. No reason to buy one as a student. Also, the butterfly requires a subscription after you purchase it. Others do not. 

• Like 1
  • Upvote 2

While $90k seems like a crazy amount...every $ that you can save will benefit you, especially if it's for something completely unnecessary for didactic or clinical year.  As @EMEDPA said you'll have access to machines on rotations with the people there to teach you. 

You may be missing that $1500 or $3000 if you're hungry after graduation looking for a job or waiting on credentialing, and who knows, you go in wanting EM but maybe you're going to come out a dermatology fiend.  Not sure you can U/S a rash 🙂

• Like 1
  • Upvote 1

• Administrator
4 hours ago, EMEDPA said:

To hear the POCUS folks talk, you can u/s anything, including fractures and eyeballs...