NPR's "All Things Considered" - Unemployed PA

I've been a lurker around these forums, originally I was gunning for Pharmacy school but the lack of job opportunities and a few days of thinking made me realize I wouldn't be happy as a pharmacist and that I would be doing it solely for the money - something I realized isn't worth doing. Anyways, not starting a new thread about my future just yet, this is just a little introduction about me as a pre-pa student.

As I was driving home yesterday, I was listening to NPR's program, All Things Considered and they were talking about the poverty rate that has been rising. I heard this and I got... Not worried but curious on some input.

"I'm Billie Jackson. I'm 31, and I have two degrees. I have a physician assistant degree and a hotel-restaurant degree, and I can't find work at all. I've been looking for work since May of 2008. My husband's [sic] been out of work for a year and a half."

That was all they had of her story, then they listed a few other people who were in bad shape as well that weren't as educated.

I know its a vague statement, she might only have a bachelors, and there are probably a number of other things that might contribute to her not being able to find work as a PA. Personally, simple (indeed.com) searches around Houston have given me a decent amount of results. Expanding shows that there are a good amount of PA opportunities nationally, keeping in mind this is just indeed.com/craigslist, nothing too serious.