New Grad Interviews

Hi all,

I am a recent grad and I'm beginning the fun interview process. As a new grad I'm realizing that I don't know much (or at least enough) about what I should be looking for from employers. At the moment I have an interview with an outpatient cardiology clinic/office. I was hoping someone might give me some ideas of things I should be looking for, looking out for or just general questions that I should be asking. I had an initial phone interview and I only had one concern so far. I was told that hours generally run 8-5, somedays 8-6. I wasn't given salary information at that time. I can appreciate that I am a new grad and can't afford to be too picky, however, the thought of potentially having 60hr work weeks, with a family at home, does have me a little anxious. 

Would greatly appreciate any insight!

Thanks!

Be outwardly enthusiastic (as opposed to looking like you’re trying to find a reason not to work there) while you remain inwardly alert to what the place is actually like. You can ask questions and pick up clues as to how people like the place.

I worked in outpatient cardio for 9 years(just parttime now with inpatients, but in the same practice.) You will have a “process job,” meaning some days there will be lots of people and someone is off and somehow the people have to be processed, regardless of how much time that takes. You can’t just leave when your scheduled time comes and handle everyone else in the morning.

The range of your duties can be broad or not. Taking call, running stress tests, checking pacers, etc. Try to get a sense of that and how they plan to get you up to speed.

I agree with the last poster as to getting input as to salary and negotiation. The interview is a fact-finding exercise, for both you and your prospective employer.

Good luck!

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

• Upvote 1