Killer GPA, Bad HCE

Quite opposite to most people’s predicaments on this forum, I have the dilemma of having a really high GPA (cGPA=3.98, sGPA=4.0) but very low HCE. I have managed to rack up 125 hours from working as a CNA for a semester; however, I hated it and quit my job. Currently, I am a sophomore in college majoring in biology with a microbiology emphasis, and I am beginning to prepare for applying to PA programs next spring. I have just started looking into PA programs, but I am very interested in the University of Wisconsin LaCrosse PA Program, the University of Wisconsin Madison PA Program, and the Rosalind Franklin University PA Program. None of the three schools have set a minimum to the number of direct patient contact hours, but they do stress the importance of HCE. Next fall, I am thinking about applying for some different CNA positions that will hopefully better suit me. I have shadowed one PA already, and plan on doing more this summer, and I have started volunteering at Campus Kitchen. I know the more hours the better, but I need to set some realistic goals for myself.

So the question is, thinking realistically, what is the minimum amount of HCE that I should attain to make myself a competitive candidate?

I was also wondering how many schools on average does one apply to? How much money does one usually spend on the application process? And if anyone has any helpful advice, I am all ears!

So the question is, thinking realistically, what is the minimum amount of HCE that I should attain to make myself a competitive candidate?

to maximize your chances of obtaining admission to a program 1000 hrs is the min I would shoot for as that encompasses the range of requirements for most programs. some programs say 500 hrs but if you look at matriculants the avg is 1000+. some programs have higher min cutoffs like 2000-4000 but they are looking for a different type of applicant than you.