More on the PI-CME, aka CQI project.....

This was an email I received from another PA regarding the PI-CME.....Just as an FYI, as she actually was involved in the pilot.

I was a part of the pilot project that tested the performance improvement (clinical quality/research projects) for NCCPA. We did it starting in Oct. 2010 and finished in March, 2011. Originally there were 200 of us in the pilot, only 150 of us finished our projects. You can refer to my postings on clinician1.com where other PAs have made comments to what I originally said (Follow-up on the Clin Q1 Project for PAs), there is actually 5 postings on this topic there, but the one I refer to here has the most comments on it.

The clinical projects that NCCPA has now decided to incorporate are required by the MD profession. They are required to do a clinical improvement project every 2 years maybe? (I’m not sure of the time period). These projects are geared around improving your clinical practice area, improving your patient outcomes, etc. There were many comments on clinician1.com that stated supervising MDs were already overwhelmed with what they had to do and therefore they would not be willing to help us with our projects. From all of the comments I acquired, I compiled them and wrote the following memo to Ragan at NCCPA who was heading up the project:

Interoffice Memorandum

TO: Ragan Cohn, NCCPA

RE: Clinical Q1 Project

DATE: March 21, 2011

Ragan, I’ve posted on Clinician1.com regarding the NCCPA doing the pilot project, Clinical Q1. From those two postings I’ve compiled the following comments which I believe need to be addressed by NCCPA to make the ClinQ1 project successful.

1. Physician Support/Clinic Management Support