Quick Question

Quick question, I found out my genetics course is online and I am concerned this will effect my application. I have not seen schools stating a course, besides English and labs, cannot be online. Unfortunately, there is always that chance that stuff like that can impact my application. Just a thought..

• Administrator

So?  If it's online, it's online.  If you have such an otherwise perfect app that you want to take it in person and have the time and money, go for it.  Everything in life comes with tradeoffs, but I wouldn't lose a whole lot of sleep over online non-lab coursework.

• Administrator

Most transcripts don't differentiate online vs in person. There is no reason for the school to know it was online unless you tell them.

I believe it's a field on CASPA now, actually.

Just my two cents... Genetics is a course you're going to want to attend lecture for. Unless you're really patient learning it on your own. 

I have no doubt that was your experience, but it was not mine.  I did an undergrad independent study in genetics, and as an IT person, I found the transmission rules and logic pretty straightforward

Thank you! I honestly have no other choice other than taking it online due to certain policies regarding certain science majors. I have to take a physio lab too, but it is online and not human physiology and is the only lab I can take that is provided by my school. 

• 2 weeks later...

I have another concern regarding my physiology lab. My school does not offer any human physiology lab at all. There is only one physiology lab which is a general physiology lab, but again it is not a human physiology course. Also it is a virtual lab as well, but it is in a classroom. Should I even waste my time with it? I contacted one school and they are adamant in me taking a physiology lab. But another school will take other labs that equate to human physiology.