Autonomy is my biggest concern...

Hey guys (and gals), I've been lurking here for quite a while and wanted to thank everyone for the wealth of information available here. I've been a medic for 10 years now, and am ready to move forward, but what worries me is losing my independence. As a paramedic I've had my protocols to work with, but I've always managed to practice medicine, not follow a cookbook and have found that if I can justify it I can do it. I've had many many years of being in charge, and I'm worried about trying to step down from that role. I was curious if anyone else shared this concern. (Side note: By no means is this an attack on the profession in general, nor am I saying that PAs are nothing but an MDs lackey, just me venting some fear haha)

Paramedic for about the same amount of time...can find scattered through my yearly evals statements like "clinically sound but can be a cowboy" or "very intelligent and aggressive in his medical delivery but can be a loose cannon"

I always translated that to read "good at his job, can't tolerate those who can't keep up".