Advice Needed - Unique situation (long)

I am a new grad working in family practice with an attached minor care. I see about 45 scheduled Pts per week and 12-15 minor care Pts per week. Our minor care basically takes all comers - chest pain, acute abdomens, stroke Sx (not by choice, but we're the only clinic for 20 miles or so and serve a very rural area). We stabilize and ship them out as necessary.

My side job is as an EMT (currently basic) with a volunteer service. I work in Idaho and here we have a unique classification of providers called Ambulance Based Clinician. This class of ambulance provider is for PAs, NPs, and RNs (as well as MDs/DOs) who want to assist their communitities by providing ALS level transfers from hospital to hospital - mostly adverse weather cardiac patients, but this applies to any Pt on meds that are beyond NS or D5W. Any of the above credentialed providers can obtain this classification as long as they have their EMT-B cert.

My problem is that the DO who is our medical director won't sign off on me doing any ALS transfers yet because she has worked with several PAs in the past and apparently had bad experiences. I have no further details. She is concerned because she doesn't know about my background as an EMT (been with the company for 2 years and stayed active even while going to PA school) and is unsure if I can handle it safely. One part of the issue is that I would be required/licensed to do ALS procedures/meds/ACLS in the bus if the Pt crumps en route.

So, two questions. 1. Are her concerns founded? And 2. If not, how do I convince her to sign off on this? EMS is my passion - obviously or I would have given up on it at the beginning of PA school. I have a chance to contribute and do more for my community and my company and I don't want this doc's prior bad experience to stand in the way.

Thoughts? Sorry this is so long.

Andrew