How long did it take you to repay your loans? Advice appreciated!!

As far as the debt after graduation this is what I did:

During PA school I was probably had reduced my living expenses to about 25K/yr. Once I graduated and started working said I would try to keep to that same budget (well maybe I went up to 30K/yr I went on a trip, bought a nice TV etc... ) I kept a roommate. But I did not buy a house, new car etc. Trust me that first job you are still learning allot and it will go by pretty fast (when you get in PA school you'll see how fast it goes by). But after a year 1 year you should be able to pay off at least 40% of you school loans. So some food for thought? Would I preferred no roommate, more vacations etc.... sure but the 1 yr went by fast and I don't have a big debt hanging over my head.

Owe 100K PA school debt. Earning 80 K living expenses=30K That is 50K that could go toward that debt.

Keep in mind if you pick up a contingent side gig that first year (3-4 shifts a month ~20k/yr) and you can lower that debt number even more and you were doing what during rotations 60-80 hrs a week???? So maintain your same budget and hours in the hospital/clinic for just one more year and the debt will melt away.

I had paid my undergrad loans off many years prior to PA prog. took 2 1/2 yrs to get prereqs + program = 156,000 in debt. I paid off all friends and family first, about 18,000. and paid 800 a month at same time on commerial bank graduate loan of 42,000 principal, and the Feds 87,000 principal. I still owe over 100,000 on these latter two. my last payment to the Fed will take place the year I turn 90 years old. I suggest you enroll in NHSC, either upfront as scholar or in a loan repayment work location. I have never lived large since graduation. good luck.:heheh: