Why Did You Want To Be A PA?

good step up from medic. better scope of practice, better hours and easier on the back. didn't have to take ochem.

I like being a pa about 80% of the time but would be happier as a doc. scope of practice issues and respect are my major issues with the profession. being supervised by people that I trained(which has happened) seems inappropriate. I have no problem with being supervised by someone who knows more than I do.

in order to work in a position with a reasonable scope of practice at which I am respected by my peers I have to work predominately nights and weekends in solo and rural positions.

To be honest....Money.

I had just finished my BS in econ and was looking at econ jobs, but they were only paying low 40's. I still enjoyed medicine after being a corpsman, and thought about it. Did a little research and discovered I could finish in 2 years and make 65+.......

That was about it. Money drives most of my decisions in life. One of the reasons I liked econ so much. Description of human behaviour through a singular medium....money.

I wish I could say that there was some higher altruistic notion...the Marcus Welby thing....but nah.....

anyone else? LESH, andersenpa, Contrarian, jmj etc...let's hear it!

Worked with PAs in the Military and the VA. Wanted to be more than a Med Lab Tech. Wanted to return home one day and practice in a rural clinic. Didn't turn out that way. LOL. Yes, I enjoy my job and the chance to get more PAs trained for Primary Care rural practice.

It was the next logical step...

I started as a Army National Guard Combat Medic (EMT-B) at 17yrs old.

Returned home (Chicago) from training and worked as a CNA and Psych Tech for 1.5yrs.

Went active duty full time military, went to Airborne School and served as a Army Medic occasionally (~2x/yr for 30 day stints) working with Army PAs for about 6.5 more yrs.

During this time, completed EMT-I & EMT-P programs.