What are my chances? Also, what should I do to improve my application?

I'm only going to apply to Cleveland State University/Tri-C's Physician Assistant program for this year, I might apply to other schools if I get rejected and have some healthcare experience.. The deadline is November 1, 2011. I have zero healthcare experience right now, and I graduated in 2009 from Cleveland State University with a Bachelor's of Science degree and I majored in Biology. I have a 3.26 cumulative gpa and a 3.07 Science gpa, I calculated the gpa myself so I might have made a mistake but I have a feeling it's right. I'm going to shadow hopefully several physician assistants in different specialties. I'm also studying for the GRE-Revised and will take it end of September. The reason why my Science gpa is low is because I got a D in Biochemistry in a semester when I had to take care of my sick mother a lot. So if I get rejected, I was looking at certificate programs in a healthcare related field. I was wondering if I should become a Phlebotomist? If they transfer classes from what I took in undergrad I'd probably only need 6-7 credits to get the certificate to become a Phlebotomist.

GPAs on the lower side with no HCE = not competitive and not likely to get accepted anywhere, especially if applying late in the cycle. If I were you, I would forego applying this cycle and work on getting HCE. Take additional upper level science courses at the same time to help show that you are a "new man" as well as raise the GPAs a bit. Retake science courses that you made a C or lower in. You can reach your goal but it's going to take some time and effort. Keep at it.