Trend: Increasing requirements of PA schools

I last applied to PA school in 2014, I decided to wait a cycle before applying again building up HCE and adding more medical related courses.

Now, that I'm researching programs again for the 2016 application cycle I've noticed a pretty big change in a lot of programs I applied to last cycle. They are now requiring Organic chem 1 & sometimes 2, in addition to biochemistry (and sometimes physics). Luckily for me I took Ochem (without lab) and Biochem w/lab years ago in undergrad.

A nice advantage is that PA schools traditionally did not have the same requirements as med school - meaning you could avoid taking courses like ochem & physicis, etc..  If I was a fresh college grad and I had to take these classes now, why on Earth would I bother applying to PA school? I might as well take a few months study for the MCAT and apply to med school. Not only that, you wouldn't  technically have to worry about accruing any HCE going to med school either. If I was younger, given the opportunity cost years down the road of going PA over MD/DO, this wouldn't even be a question.

Don't get me wrong I still see a lot of advantages in the PA profession and I'll still pursue it for a number of personal reasons, but this is really blurring the lines even further between pre-PA/Pre-Med requirements. My guess is due to a massive increase in interest in the profession applications are at an all time high. So to weed out applicants, why not throw in ochem/physics/biochem as another barrier of entry. 

Honest question to PA graduates and students. How much useful information could you actually apply from ochem/physics to your didactic coursework?

One program to the next still have requirements that seem to be all over the place and this trend really ins't helping. There needs to be some sort of standard for pre-requisite courses and prior health care experience in place for PA programs.