Learning about procedures before school?

I will be going back to school full time to take my science pre-reqs next year.  I want to use my time wisely and was wondering what are some good skills to build/certifications to have.

I'm not worried about these helping me get into school as I already have 1000+ hours of HCE.  I really just want to be as prepared as possible to succeed once I am there.

So far I've come up with:

• Phlebotomist
  • EKG Technician
  • Pharmacy Tech

What else can you guys recommend?  Should I take courses on suturing so I'm familiar with the process prior to starting PA school?  What other procedures can I learn prior to PA school?  Anything?

I'm currently a EMT-CC (advanced life support) and can hone most of these skills while on the ambulance.  I plan on being very active in EMS once I am back at school.

Thank you!

It kind of sounds like you are trying to pad your application.  Generally, this is not looked upon as good, and you can bet adcoms will see through it quickly with just a few questions.

Before I left for the Navy to be a medic, I pre-trained for a total of 0 hours with respect to medical procedures and techniques.  We learned all we needed to know in school, then honed those skills in the clinic and out in the field.  It certainly wouldn't hurt you to start learning suturing, lines, lead placements, but it's not going to put you at a competitive advantage academically and you will learn it in school anyways, so why bother?  Focus on getting in, worry about what you'll do when are there.

sounds like you might end up in EM or critical care later. Agree with above, but if you want the skills just for the sake of having them these helped me:

blood draws, IM/SubQ injections, IV starts, TB testing, ekgs, neb tx, 1st assist lac repairs/I+Ds, splinting skills, etc

Basically ER tech skills in a place that lets the techs do a lot and doesn't have enough nurses...my first job in health care for example....:)