Most important skills from your perspective...

Hi everyone,

I am a new grad PA about to go into an emergency medicine residency program where we have some flexibility to focus on what we want.  It could be learning the intricacies of managing critically ill patients vs getting great at managing low-moderate acuity patients efficiently; it could be learning advanced procedures vs getting great at common procedures; it could be solo practive vs traditional teaching hospital feel; etc.  While I'd love to learn it all, the program is only 1.5 years and I realize I'll have to narrow my focus to things that will give me the most bang for my buck. 

I've heard people say you should focus on the seeing as much of the critically ill patients and doing as many advanced procedures as possible, because people won't train you on this in the future (while you can typically learn low-moderate acuity things on the job).  Others have said many EDs won't even allow PAs to see the highest acuity patients or do the advanced procedures, so its pointless focusing your energy on them now.  I understand that very rural, solo provider EDs do allow it, but I don't see myself in a place like that until I have many years of experience. 

All of this being said, I wanted to ask you all, what would you focus on if you were given the opportunity to do an emergency medicine residency?   Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

ps moderators - I wanted to leave the question open to the general professional forums, but feel free to switch it to EM or Residency subforum if you think it'd get a better response.

critical care, anesthesiology, u/s, really sick kids, trauma, advanced procedures.

you can learn general em in any job. what you want out of a residency is the stuff from the off-service rotations listed above. if you have a procedure log full of advanced procedures you can find a job where you can utilize those skills. if you don't it's much more difficult.