Role of PAs on Trauma Team

Hello all!

I work as an ER tech in a large community hospital that is a level two trauma center. Additionally, I am a 19 year old pre-PA student. I was talking to one of our surgical PA's today and he said that he is leaving our hospital to become a trauma PA at an academic medical center that is a level one trauma center in another state. This got me thinking:

What roles do advanced practitioners typically play on trauma teams? Can they lead the resuscitation with attending supervision? Does this depend on the type of facility (i.e. academic vs community)?

Plenty of level 1 trauma centers use PAs. Where I worked as a tech had a few. I am currently rotating at an academic level I that has one and an NP and are looking to add more in the future. The PAs do everything from seeing patients on the floors, doing procedures, to occasionally running traumas if the residents or attendings are not available or tied up. Fun times for all involved.

This is great to hear that trauma centers are utilizing PAs. Hopefully it is to their full potential and license. I find it hard to know which hospitals are really looking to incorporate PAs into their trauma service and which just want to stick us in Fast Track.

This is great to hear that trauma centers are utilizing PAs. Hopefully it is to their full potential and license. I find it hard to know which hospitals are really looking to incorporate PAs into their trauma service and which just want to stick us in Fast Track.

I hear ya. In my experience looking for my first job, I found that short of some inside info, you can only really figure this out when you are physically in the department for an interview. The job I took initially looked like a fast track type of place, but ended up being the opposite.