Controlled Substances

I have been practicing for two years now and am absolutely astonished at the number of patients seen in my clinic that beg for controlled substances and at the huge number heatlh providers that give it to them. I am not talking about acute pain from fractures or MVAs....I am talking about pain meds for scoliosis (cobb angles of 6 degrees), osteopenia, fibromyalgia, and the favorite LBP. Can anyone tell me why providers insist of giving out Norco, Percocet, and Vicodin at 60 pills with three refills without any xrays or MRIs in the charts? And don't let me get started on the Benzos given out at this clinic. Thi si snot medicine, this is pill dispensing. And I don't think it's going to get better until each one of us does our part to educate our patients on the dangers of these drugs and just say NO. I am ashamed to say that there are two PAs at my clinic giving this stuff out like candy at Halloween. Any suggestions?

try to practice the best that you can

don't give into it or else you will become the "candy man" as I describe it

You can try to educate your co-workers, but many times that doesn't work and creates friction.....  I have always just protected my own license and tried to do what is best to the patient

remember and otherwise healthy person will not die from opiate withdrawl, but might from benzo withdrawl...

I see it getting worse in the following scenario (of which I'm not part of):

1) Small practices can't fight with insurance companies any more due to complex systems and labyrinths of denials. 

2)Providers join large hospital groups, who have the clout to fight with insurance companies.

3)Once part of the large system, the large system knows that the real money is in volume not quality of care.

Providers are asked to see patients every 10 minutes.