I have my fancy card that says Physician Extender on the bottom of it recognizing that I attended an ATLS course. This was done back in 2010 and I am set to expire Sept 2014. I was under the impression, when I took the initial class, that I cannot recertify but rather will have to sit in on the entire class. Is this correct, does anyone know?

Thanks

I've never taken ATLS but will try to sometime this year (I'm a new FM intern). In the past 10 work days I've done full 2-day courses for ACLS and PALS (my last recert was some crap called ASHI not AHA so they wouldn't honor it although not expired) and full CPR/BLS, EKG for providers and NRP. I have certification course fatigue...we do ALSO in 2 wk.

I've never taken ATLS but will try to sometime this year (I'm a new FM intern). In the past 10 work days I've done full 2-day courses for ACLS and PALS (my last recert was some crap called ASHI not AHA so they wouldn't honor it although not expired) and full CPR/BLS, EKG for providers and NRP. I have certification course fatigue...we do ALSO in 2 wk.

ALSO is a great course. do APLS is you get a chance at some point as well.

Well these are all mandatory lol...APLS and ATLS are not. When I'm a little less tired I will look into them. There's also a critical care course too that I need to do (FCCS??) but is not required.

I was worried I would have to cram for cat I CME as my NCCPA renewal is due this December (last time I will renew) and NCCPA won't approve any of my med school courses for cat I (I have hundreds of hours of cat II lol). Guess I won't need to scramble for cat I hours now lol. (I didn't realize but we don't accrue any CME hours during residency--not until you pass specialty boards then your clock starts for certification maintenance).