Masters vs Bachelors program

If you already have a bachelors degree, did/ are you applying to the masters program or bachelors program?  I am having a hard time deciding which program I want to apply to, especially as now there is an option to earn an MPH if in the bachelors program.  Can anyone weigh in as to the pros and cons of either?

Although it's a very personal decision, here are a couple of things to think about to get you started.

1) my personal belief is that you should always go for the highest degree you are qualified for that is available. For example, I have a masters degree already, so I knew I wanted another masters and not a bachelors program.

2) think about where you want to go as a PA and what you want to do. Public health? Under served populations? Dermatology? If it's public health, maybe the MPH is where you want to go. If it's derm, maybe not.

3) also consider scholarships and jobs you might be interested in. Are you applying for USPHS or NHSC? Maybe MPH is for you!

Just some general thoughts.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

If I may provide some insight, even though I have thirty years of diverse experience I am being disqualified from applying for multiple positions in my neck of the woods since the employers are very specific not only in the job posting, but even with phone follow up, that they will consider ONLY those with MS in PA studies (short-sighted in my opinion but I'm not the one making the decision).  Doesn't matter what else I may be able to bring to the table, or my willingness if they insist on obtaining a bridge program MS within a reasonable time window of employment (don't want to but if that's what it takes then I guess that's what one has to do).  In this situation it would be a no-brainer, if given the option, to get the MS.

• 5 months later...