HCE vs. My summer

I am in the middle of CNA classes right now, and I will be finishing a week after my school finishes. Unfortunately, I do not have a way to stay in my college town at this point, and am forced to go home. I've contacted a nursing home for a job but they told me if I'm only here for the summer they don't want me. What do I do? I'm in my second year of college with no healthcare experience,and I feel like I'm running out of time. Also, what do I do if I can't get hired anywhere in my college town next semester?

You might consider trying home health as a place to start. If you're not in a financial situation where you absolutely have to work for money, you can and should volunteer and shadow as much as possible. If you're willing to volunteer you should consider getting an EMT-B certification. That could open up better volunteer experience. It might open up better job opportunities but I don't have experience in this area. Getting a medical assistant license could also help. Many doctors running offices would be sympathetic to your cause. However, I don't know that M.A. hours would be compatible with your class schedule.

Getting a job as a CNA is not as easy as many believe. I had to do a lot of applying and basically annoyed one facility into interviewing me. Most facilities, especially hospitals, want experience (starting in home health might help, but even those agencies often want experience). The situation could be different where you are, but if you run into difficulty, my advice is to network and pester. Just sending out applications might not be enough. Many CNAs regard their career as a disposable McJob, so if you show you're eager it could count for a lot. Go in to talk to people, mention your PA plans and tell them that you hope to gain experience AND a letter of recommendation in the future, that way they know you'll follow instructions (a rarity in the field) and take the work seriously.