Respiratory therapist for 8yrs, thinking of PA @42!! what are my chances??

Hi everyone, im 42, with Associate Degree in Respiratory Care, Thinking of changing what ive wanted to do.i ve been an RCP for 8yrs, love it but always thinking of doing and learning more. I hv two wonderful kids that keep me going and also loosing out on my career path.

But im wondering how to start with PA career path over 2yrs now.

Need some advices and suggestions on what to do or how to start.

Thank you all so much for help.

laura

I started at 39, also with an associates degree. I selected a program to do my prerequisites where I was able to finish my bachelor's degree and got admitted to the PA program (3 yr program) as a "junior" . This year I got my bachelors (health sciences) and next year I graduate with my masters (PA). Total time was 4 years but doing it that way actually saved me a year. I am the oldest in my class, but that hasn't been any issue for me. I had extensive health care experience as a neuromonitoring tech before PA school. My experience has been extremely valuable to me throughout this process. Your experience in Respiratory care will serve you well.  I am of the mind that extensive health care experience should be a prerequisite for PA school (but I know many younger folks will disagree with that). If you know you want to be a PA, I encourage you to go for it. It's not easy and you have to have a good support system around you. Shop around for a program that you feel comfortable with. Look at PANCE pass rates. Ask if their grads get jobs.Visit some open houses. Talk to students and faculty.  The longer you wait, the harder it will be to attempt. Good luck!

laura

I don't know from your post how much you know about getting into the profession, so I'm writing this post with the assumption that you're totally ignorant (if you're not, don't take it personally).