Guidance - Which profession should I choose?

Hello All!

I am in the process of making a life-altering career choice and I would love to hear some feedback from all the PA-C's out there. I graduated with my B.S. in May 2013 and my original plan all throughout undergrad has been to become a PA. However, as I delved deeper into the application process, I decided to apply to one direct entry NP program as a backup in case I didn't get in to PA school because the thought of being out of school and delaying my graduate degree and career progression by another year is very unappealing to me.

I am now at a serious cross-road since I have been accepted to a couple PA programs and the one (albeit, prestigious) NP program to which I applied. Even after being accepted to the NP program I have still been 99% sure that I want to be a PA because I want to practice medicine, the PA programs will provide me with greater amounts of clinical experience, etc.

However, after reading several of the posts on this forum I am very concerned. It seems that many posters have been expressing sentiments along the lines of NPs some how being considered to be "above" PAs by other medical/healthcare professionals. Do you really think this is true? Are PAs falling behind in terms of respect from other medical/healthcare professionals? What about in terms of professional advancement and opportunities to hold leadership/admin positions in the medical field?

If you were in my position and had to make this decision would you still choose to become a PA? Thank you in advance for your input I really appreciate it!

...Even after being accepted to the NP program I have still been 99% sure that I want to be a PA...

I think that sums it up nicely. Rarely are we "100%" sure about any decisions in our lives. I'd say 99% is as good as it gets.