Re-cert/ PANRE in 2014

Okay, so I have one question I think I already know the answer to, and then a second one that's a lot less clear to me.

First, I'm eligible to do the PANRE in either 2014 or 2015 (I graduated and did the PANCE in 2009). I've heard a lot of excellent arguments in favor of just going for re-cert in 2014, and I think that's what I'll do. If anyone has a compelling argument in favor of wating until 2015, I'd love to hear it.

Second, I don't relish the idea of a big, formalized test prep period - I studied for PANCE like it was my job, because at the time it was, but now I have a job, a kid, and a life - but it seems kind of arrogant to expect to waltz in with no preparation and ace the PANRE. Clearly, I should do some manner of preparation, and something structured and relatively quick, like one of the intense, 3- or 5-day things, seems about right.

But... that would mean that my limited CME time and dollars would go to whatever prep I schedule for myself, and I would likely not be able to attend the SEMPA conference, which I've really liked and found useful for the past 4 years running.

So this means I need to decide on either Plan A, which would be to do SEMPA as usual, study at home on my own with a good workbook or Web-based thing over a couple of weeks... or Plan B, which would be to find a nice destination type boot camp thing scheduled such that I can go out and crush the PANRE within a couple weeks of finishing it.

Does any of the above sound like something you've done, and would recommend? Thanks, team, for whatever observations or ideas you have.