How long would you put up with this?

Without going into too much personal detail, I'm looking for some advice. I'm a new graduate working in a fairly intense surgical subspecialty. I'm about 3 months into my first job. Things are not going well with my SP. I've come to find out that I'm actually the 3rd PA he's hired in less than a year. One quit after a month, the second quit after a couple months. Neither one gave any notice, and they left because of the way he was treating them in and out of the OR. He has a terrible temper that he just cannot seem to control. I was warned about it by other physicians (who apparently have a pool going on how long I'm going to last). Even the department head told me, "He's a really great guy at heart but he's a new surgeon and just hasn't learned how to deal with people yet." (The guy's in his late 30's. My initial thought was that most people are fully formed by that age.) I'm getting a little fed up with being yelled at almost on a daily basis. I admit I'm far from perfect, but often times, the a$$ chewings I get are for things that are outside my control or are completely unfair expectations of a new graduate. An example is that I didn't stop an ER physician from intubating a patient two weeks into the job. Apparently my SP didn't feel she needed to be intubated even though he had not yet evaluated the patient himself. Obviously, the intubation was not my decision. I also got yelled at for not picking up subtle findings on a CT that were missed by the radiologist who he thinks is "an idiot". He tells me I'm committing malpractice and that I don't care about my patients when such things happen. As a new graduate PA, I should not be expected to contradict an ER physician or an experienced radiologist just because my SP disagrees with them. He yells at me in front of my colleagues, and several times I've had people tell me I should complain for the way he's treated me. A few times, I've had to smooth things over for other people