Urgent Care

Just as an aside, why in the world did that PA not tell why she chose to use Cipro for empirical treatment? How exactly was that FQ a good first-line choice?

Would Azithromycin not have done the job? Why not an extended spectrum penicillin, or Ceftriaxone? Was it not possible that the recurrent low grade fever came from an autoimmune cause? What tests did that PA say she was going to order to really specify the cause (if it's even bacterial)?

I'm just a student, and I do take it to heart when someone puts down the profession. But a bad clinician is a bad clinician, it doesn't matter what initials come after that name.

i agree cipro was an odd choice and should be explained. i would have done a thorough work up and explained everything i was ordering, and used something with better coverage like a z-pack (if anything!). i dont use cipro for much other than UTI's, unless it is in combo with something (diverticulitis, etc). They are using one bad PA apple to make us all look bad. I have seen bad NP's and MD's too. smh.

Agree on the Cipro thing, but is anyone surprised that a forum like this would highlight one bad example and extrapolate it to the rest of us?  It's female PHYSICIANS....it shouldn't surprise anyone that they'd feel more comfortable seeing another physician.

I've treated many physicians before, as I'm sure y'all have as well.  I rarely have had any issues because I'm a PA, and I make sure it's known that indeed I am a PA.

As I'm sure the rest of y'all have seen as well, I've seen bizarre treatments from physicians that have left my head scratching (treating cellulitis with both keflex AND clindamycin, for example), but I think we all know it comes down to the individual provider rather than the group as a whole

IMHO

PCP Doc's with in 5-10 years of retirement write anything the patients want

Levaquin for 3 days cold, one day dysuria (yup not even cipro), Narocitc - what ever they want....