Anyone a trauma PA? Something I am interested in

Hello,

I am a trauma/critical care nurse applying to PA school for August 2014 admission. I love trauma and am wondering if any of you work as trauma PA's? I am sure the world of trauma is very different for a PA than it is for a nurse...

One of the local medical centers in NC has a one year trauma surgery fellowship for PAs, looks amazing!

Thank you!

I'm not one, but work with them. Cool gig and they are deemed essential by the trauma surgical teams. We are a Level 1 trauma center and to say it's busy and fun is an understatement. Basically, our providers drive the ship but our nurse are the ones doing what needs to get done within scope of practice freeing providers to quarterback.

Other duties of our PAs are rounding the patients on days. They don't work nights which is nice, I suppose.

since you've been out after on a team now, just plug a PA in for the Doc and you've generally got it.

both of my local trauma ctrs have very active PAs on the service, the level 1 moreso than the level 2 as they only have 2 PAs(the level 1 has probably 6 with 2 on at any given time, 1 for immediate response and 1 covering the ICU..

at the level 1 the PAs are first in on all "level 2 traumas" which are folks requiring workup and not going directly to the o.r.

folks with obvious major injuries are "level 1" and the whole team shows up, stabilizes them in the bay then whisks them to the o.r..

the PAs are involved with both level 1 and 2 but basically run the 2's including workup, icu admit orders, initial stabilization, etc. They also run the postop clinics, and do all the H+P's and hospital d/c's allowing the trauma surgeons to focus on working in the o.r..

the icu/trauma attendings may not even lay eyes on the level 2s until the next morning if the night pa did the initial eval, workup, and admit.

great job. lots of hrs, lots of call.