Looking for advice on how to begin looking

How do you know where to begin your search for schools?

I am a returning student (BA in English lit many years ago) and I am working towards an RN now at the local community college. The desire to become a PA is actually what started me on this route, but I figured I would work my way up slowly and surely as I get HCE since I had none.

I am trying to focus on pre-reqs that I can do now, but I am a little overwhelmed looking at one program or another and finding variations between them. It would be easier if I knew where I want to go, but that's the part I am having difficulty with now. Is it just a matter of wading through nearly 200 websites to find a program whose mission interests me the most? Is there a good website to narrow down my choices? For example, I started my undergrad in Chicago and hated living in a city; eventually I found that I am more at ease in the place I earned my bachelor's, a town of 20K. So, any big city school is probably not going to suit me.

Thanks for any advice!

Google PAEA directory and pay the $50 or whatever it is to get access for a year. That is your best one stop shop even though it still needs some updating. They did tell us at IMPACT that they are working on it and looking to provide more complete and useful data.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2

Good thing about big city schools is the access and quality of rotation sites. If you go to a school in the sticks you'll be traveling far for your rotations, or going to the local 50 bed hospital where they transfer any patient with something more serious than strep throat to a bigger hospital.

One PA program we looked at in rural Pennsylvania had their students drive 1.5 hours into Pittsburgh so see (not touch) the cadavers the med students at Pitt were dissecting. You are only in classes for one year or so in PA school, and you'll be so busy it really won't matter where you are.

Good luck!