Questions from a re-applicant... Need advice on what to do between now and then..

Hey all!

I am looking for some advice on what I should do between application processes...I graduated in 2010 with a BS in Biology. Following graduation, I went on a 2 week medical mission trip to Ecuador.. came back and went straight to work as a scribe in February 2011. Since then, I have continued to work as a scribe in the ED and have accrued 3,263 hours. I have shadowed two PAs (176 hours) and had done numerous volunteering throughout undergrad and even became one of the founding officers of the Pre-PA society at my university. The downside: My overall and science GPA are below average, as well as my GRE score.

I applied to about 15 PA programs last year (I was just so ready to get in and start school!) and was very pleased when I was offered interviews at three schools: Stony Brook University, UT-Pan American, and Duke University. Following my interviews, I was discouraged when I was not offered admission from 2 of the 3. I am still currently waiting to hear back from the third.

I am trying to be proactive and set up a plan of what to do in the time that I am waiting to re-apply, and I have a bit of a dilemma. I know that the application for the next cycle opens up this April (in 2 months). However, between the time of my last application and now, I have only obtained additional work hours as a scribe (2,349 hours to 3,263 hours). So I have considered holding off on this cycle so that I am able to much improve my application in other areas and then re-apply in the spring of 2014.

I am trying to decide if it would be most beneficial for me to either:

1.) Retake the GRE. Retake any classes that I received C's in. Take additional upper level biology and chemistry courses. Work a part-time job as a MCAT or GRE course instructor.

OR

2.) Retake the GRE. Add on to my HCE hours and become an EMT.