Letter to the EDD

To Whom It May Concern,

I am a Physician Assistant currently working in the Inland Empire region of California. I am writing with an official complaint regarding your EDD policy of not designating Physician Assistants capable of deciding and declaring disability allowances.

Physician Assistant (PA) training is much more similar to those of Physicians, certainly more so than Nurse Practitioners who are by the EDD for some reason designated as capable of deciding and declaring disability allowances. Federally mandated didactic hours for Physicians are 2300 and those for Physician Assistants are 2000. PA educational curriculum has been and continues to be overseen by representatives of both Physician Assistant and Physician organizations, including the American College of Surgeons and Academy of Pediatrics to name only two. Doctors are an inherent part of medical lecturing as well as rotations and residencies for PAs. Nurse Practitioner educational accreditation involves not one Physician.

I ran into this paperwork issue a few months ago with a patient who I had treated for debilitating anxiety. I was the sole provider who managed this patient’s psychiatric care, including a significant change in medication regimen which worked out greatly for the benefit of the patient. Yet I was also for some bizarre reason not allowed to manage his EDD paperwork. The unintelligent irony of this is staggering.

What struck me today and is behind my writing this letter, is that we as Physician Assistants have the legal authority to override the potential decision of Jehovah’s Witness parents to prevent a child from obtaining a blood transfusion in light of life-threatening emergency. We also in California have the allowance to perform surgery, under the regulations of the Supervising Surgeon. Yet for some reason, your EDD seems to indicate that we do not have the ability to fill out employment disability paperwork.