Best HCE for pre-PA if $$$ is not a factor...

Hi-

I'm new to the site, so sorry I'm sure this has been asked before, but I'm looking to gain a few years of strong HCE prior to applying to PA school. Q: If money is not a factor, which of the paths below would you recommend as the best way to prepare myself for PA school (and if you can recommend another route not listed below, please let me know):

-LPN

-CNA

-EMT

-Medical Assistant

Many thanks and looking forward to interacting more with everyone here in the future- great site!

-Mark

I'm not in PA school yet, but here is my two cents. I'm a practicing EMT with a high call volume urban service. I've also completed a CNA class and am waiting to take the state test. Based on these two experiences, my advice is to go the EMT route. IF (and that's a big if) you can volunteer or get hired with a reputable and busy service, and then bust your hump to show them that you're serious about patient care, you can learn an unbelievable amount and work on your own skills and patient rapport at the same time. I split time between BLS and ALS ambulances - the merits of that is a separate discussion - but getting a lot of "ride" time has been incredibly beneficial for me as a future PA. When it is just you and a partner on a call, the urgency of a patient needing care forces you to perform up to your full potential. I usually will finish a call, write up the patient care report, and then immediately get on the internet or go into my textbooks and do as much research about the patient's meds, allergies, past medical history, and their current complaint to help augment my knowledge. I ask the paramedics tons of questions about WHY and HOW they handled their part of the call in the way they chose to.