Overtime???

I really need some input regarding overtime in the ED.

How many hours per month (if any) do you typically work overtime? Is this paid? If so, is it paid at straight time or at a premium rate? Finally, is it considered standard business practice to be paid overtime if you are simply finishing up on some charting after your shift ends, or only if you are actively seeing patients.

Thank you.

Hello,

I'm not working yet, but I have been hired at an ED and hopefully will begin in January.

I will be paid by the hour, with time and half for overtime. So anything over 40 hours I will receive that pay.

My schedule is 5 either 8 or 9 hours shifts per week, so I think it's safe to assume I'll work about 45 hours a week, so 5 hours of overtime.

This also applies to if I pick up someone else's shift and end up working 6 shifts, then that whole shift I will be paid time and half.

However, most people I graduated with seem to be paid a salary and will get paid that amount whether they work over 40 or less than 40 hours a week.

Im not sure about others but this is the way it worked for me. By the way ea state has their own regulation on what is considered OT. some states it is considered >8 hrs/day other >40 hrs/wk. In the last state I worked it was 40 hrs a wk. work was considered to be Sun-Sat. We were pretty short staffed for a period of 4 mos. 4 12 hour shifts x 7 days = 28 shifts with 4 FT PAs and 1 PT. you can do the math there. Quality of life went down, but the bank acct went North. If I was there just finishing up documentation and ran +/- 30min over I didnt worry about it because I wouldnt worry if I left a little early on another shift should it be the case. Im in VA now and its still the same as WA, all OT is time 1/2 and I would be leary if the hiring group didnt consider this to be the case, otherwise you might as well be salary, no?

Hello,