Advice for Pre-Pa with loads of Research experience

I just decided that I wanted to be a PA. The issue is that I have no work experience in health care. I spent most of my years planning to go to graduate school. I have accumulated 2 years worth of experience and most of that research experience has been paid. My question is whether there are PA programs that emphasize research over work experience. Thank you.

Hi ah535,

I was in the same position as you about three years ago - I had two years of paid experience as a behavioral neuroscience lab manager/research assistant when I decided I wanted to go to PA school; unfortunately, we used rodent models, so I had no "paid direct HCE" hours, and had to spend the last three years getting certified in a health field and working full time to obtain my HCE.

You may be able to get away with doing research IF your research experience involves working with a patient population in some kind of "hands-on" way (obtaining vital signs, physically providing treatments, etc.). They are mostly concerned with your day-to-day tasks while working as a research assistant. If you are working with patient populations but doing things more like taking histories, counseling, etc., then most schools don't count that as HCE. Unfortunately, I have found that while it doesn't hurt to have research in your background, most PA schools definitely DON'T emphasize it over work experience. HCE is always, always, encouraged, and I think it's a great way to validate your PA aspirations. The trick is whether you can count your research experience as health care experience. Good luck!