NP Preceptors......

I want to preface this with saying milage may vary. I'm posting here to just see if I'm the only one frustrated with this issue. I am currently a clinical year student and have been having trouble wrapping my mind around why we are able to be precepted by NP's. I keep hearing that our training is far better and our knowledge base is far greater and that has become apparent to me during these rotations (I have not had one rotation with a PA, just NP's and MD/DO). I have watched "seasoned" NP's struggle through topics that a second quarter PA student would fly through like PID treatment for instance I had to correct my preceptor the other day before she prescribed 1000mg of IM Rocephin for a 130lb patient because when she looked on epocrates for the dosing she misread Kg for Lbs. Mind you this is an NP who works in the field of WH, this is a common issue we have seen and she has to look at dose for something common everyday (which I get on occasion this is necessary for a dose not commonly used or maybe just a slip in memory, but it shows me that she is uncomfortable with her knowledge base) but I could've given her the dose right there in the exam room with the patient. Now this is just one example of a recent encounter, there are many more like asking me to preliminarily read a CT cause they were never trained to do so. I'm just saying how can we as a profession differentiate from NP's if they are allowed to precept us? If we want to say to the pubic we are different than NP's why is this allowed per ARC-PA? Not to mention when employers see that I have been precepted by mostly NP's that sets the precedent that they are equal even superior in a sense. Even they are aware of the difference in education/experience. Now I will say this NP's generally have really good patient education skills which I am grateful to learn from but they are lacking significantly in medical knowledge. Just the groanings of a second year PA student here but would love t